Seven Months? Really?

First of all, let me apologize to my seven loyal readers that it has been almost seven months since I have posted anything. I am truly sorry and it won’t happen again! So much has happened…it’s been quite a ride!

I successfully ran my first 5K on Thanksgiving Day last year. I can’t remember what my time was and to be honest, I don’t really care. My goal was to cross the finish line upright and I did just that! And I did it injured- I had done something to my IT band. That was my last bit of running for a while because I needed it to heal. Actually, it was my last bit of running until May 11th. But, I am back on the running kick and loving it all over again! Hoping to run a 5K in the fall!

Tom came home for his leave from deployment in December and we spent two weeks in Mexico. It was a nice, relaxing vacation…but also very emotional. Anyway, we came home from vacation and he was gone again! At least we were at the tail end of the deployment at that point.

In January, my best friend gave birth to an amazing little girl, Ellie Rose. Her entry into the world was a bit tough, but she is a fighter and she is strong, healthy, and has a set of lungs on her now! She is awesome and it’s been an amazing journey with Kari as she went through the pregnancy and now seeing her as a Mom. Now I just need Vicki to get knocked up! LOL

In February, Tom came home from deployment. I took some time off work and we just tried to get back in the swing of things. It has been a long, grueling process but we are doing really well. One area that the Army lacks in is providing some type of reintegration training for the families BEFORE the soldiers come home. Just like when Tom left, neither of us knew what to expect with him coming home. I felt like we were left to figure it all out on our own and that didn’t seem fair. Some days are better than others, but overall I feel like we are in a better place than we ever have been.

So, that’s about everything to date. Now, we are house hunting in Lees Summit and we are super excited. The dogs will have a bigger yard, we will have a lot more room, and we will have room for entertaining, too!! VERY excited about that!

This week, I have noticed SEVERAL of my FB friends grieving over the loss of a loved one. Please know that you are all in my thoughts and prayers. Life is way too short…whether you live one year or 100 years, it is too short. Love the people around you for you never know how long you have with them.

“I think the purpose of life is to be useful, to be responsible, to be honorable, to be compassionate. It is, after all, to matter: to count, to stand for something, to have made some difference that you lived at all.” – Leo Rosten

Leave a comment